

Fact Sheet: Languages Used for Driver's License Exams

ALABAMA: (13) Arabic, Chinese, English, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Japanese, Korean,

Russian, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese.

ALASKA: (1) English

ARIZONA: (2) English, Spanish.
ARKANSAS: (2) English, Spanish.

CALIFORNIA: (33) Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Cambodian, Cantonese, Croatian, English,

French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Farsi, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi,

Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Turkish,

Vietnamese.

COLORADO: (2) English, Spanish.

CONNECTICUT: (7) English, French, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese.

DELAWARE: (5) Chinese, English, Haitian Creole, Korean, Spanish.

DISTRICT OF (15) Amharic, Arabic, Cantonese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, **COLUMBIA:** Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Vietnamese.

FLORIDA: (3) English, Haitian Creole, Spanish.

GEORGIA: (11) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Russian,

Spanish, Turkish, Vietnamese.

HAWAII: (12) Chinese, Chuuukese, Hawaiian, Japanese, Korean, Ilocano, Marshal

Islander, Samoan, Spanish, Tagalog, Tongan, Vietnamese.

IDAHO: (11) Arabic, American Sign Language, Chinese, English, Farsi, French, Korean,

Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Vietnamese.

ILLINOIS: (5) Chinese, English, Korean, Polish, Spanish.

INDIANA: (12) Arabic, Burmese, Chin, English, German, Japanese, Korean, Spanish,

Punjabi, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Vietnamese.

IOWA: (21) Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Burmese, Cambodian, Chinese, English, French,

German, Greek, Hebrew, Hmong, Italian, Korean, Laotian, Polish, Portuguese,

Russian, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese.

KANSAS: (2) English, Spanish.

KENTUCKY: (23) Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Burmese, Cambodian, Chinese, Croatian, English,

French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Persian, Polish, Romanian,

Russian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Turkish, Vietnamese.

LOUISIANA: (1) English.

MAINE: (5) Arabic, English, French, Somali, Spanish.

MARYLAND: (6) English, French, Korean, Spanish, Traditional Chinese, Vietnamese.

MASSACHUSETTS: (28) Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, Czech, English, Farsi,

Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Lao, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish,

Urdu, Vietnamese.

MICHIGAN: (9) Arabic, Burmese, English, Greek, Hindi, Japanese, Polish, Russian, Spanish.

MINNESOTA: (6) English, Hmong, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese.

MISSISSIPPI: (10) Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Russian,

Spanish, Vietnamese.

MISSOURI: (12) Bosnian, Chinese, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese,

Korean, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese.

MONTANA: (4) Chinese, English, Russian, Spanish.

NEBRASKA: (2) English, Spanish.

NEVADA: (2) English, Spanish.

NEW HAMPSHIRE: (3) English, French, Spanish.

NEW JERSEY: (10) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese,

Russian, Spanish.

NEW MEXICO: (2) English, Spanish.

NEW YORK: (14) Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese, English, French, Greek, Hebrew, Italian,

Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish.

NORTH CAROLINA: (10) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Russian,

Spanish, Vietnamese.

NORTH DAKOTA: (13) American Sign Language, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Nepali, Russian,

Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Turkish, Vietnamese.

OHIO: (8) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Russian, Somali, Spanish.

OKLAHOMA: (1) English

OREGON: (8) Arabic, Chinese, English, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese.

PENNSYLVANIA: (9) Arabic, English, French, Hindi, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese.

(7) Arabic, Bosnian, English, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish.

11011101110001

SOUTH CAROLINA: (4) English, French, German, Spanish.

SOUTH DAKOTA: (1) English.

RHODE ISLAND:

TENNESSE: (4) English, Japanese, Korean, Spanish.

TEXAS: (2) English, Spanish.

UTAH: (1) English.

VERMONT: (5), English, French, Serbo-Croation, Somali, Spanish.

VIRGINIA: (21) American Sign Language, Amharic, Arabic, Chinese, Dari, Farsi, English,

French, German, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Mongolian, Nepali, Pashto,

Punjabi, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese.

WASHINGTON: (7) Chinese, English, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese.

WEST VIRGNIA: (3) English, Japanese, Spanish.

WISCONSIN: (8) Chinese, English, Hmong, Polish, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish.

WYOMING: (1) English.

Information in the above table was collected by U.S. English from officials at the motor vehicle departments in each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia, February-April 2016.